Database Replica Recommendations

Hey Guys!

I’m currently working on an analytics platform for my app, and we have chosen to use https://cube.dev as the analytics engine (instead of rolling our own). This is my first time doing something like this hence why I chose an engine like Cube, now, reading thru the documentation it seems like a very good practice to do a Read-Replica of my database (which makes a lot of sense) but I’m not sure how I can make this on Qovery, I had guess i can just go into my AWS console and make the replica by hand and then just configure my backend to route depending on the actions but this does not scale so well, even more counting that we are already working on staging and production environments. So my questions:

• Is there any guide on how to properly do replicas while using Qovery? (perhaps a combination of Qovery + AWS on Terraform)

• Has anyone deployed https://cube.dev or similar solutions on Qovery? (I will guess it is not something new or super complex, but just for reference :))

• Any other recommendations on how to scale a fairly simple analytics platform with multiple sources of data?

Hi @ditorojuan ,

Indeed, it’s a good practice to read data from your BI tool on a read replica. (Here is a schema I found from the AWS doc)

I have 2 answers to this question:

With Qovery only

There is no guide on how to set up replicas on managed instances using Qovery. However, it’s something we can add. E.g. We can add a property in our database API (via our advanced settings) to make the read replica configurable for your managed database.

Pros:

• It’s built-in Qovery
  • Easy to use and replicate across your environments

Cons:

• We need time to implement it

With Qovery + AWS via Terraform

It’s possible via Terraform if you manage your RDS database on your own and interconnect it to your Qovery apps via VPC peering.

Pros:

• Implementable now!
  • You can configure your database as you want and keep it fully flexible

Cons: